Why I Rarely Reply to Comments on Social Media Posts

And here’s what you can do instead of replying to comments

Alex Bentley
4 min readDec 2, 2021

--

Image created by the Author in Canva

If you’re a content creator of any kind, then you’re most likely getting comments on your content.

For me, I used to love receiving comments on my social media posts. I would gladly take a few seconds to craft an intelligent reply or a brief “thank you” message.

But after a few years of trying to keep up with my fans and commenters, it’s become draining. Exhausting even.

Now, I rarely reply to comments on social media.

Besides feeling exhausted keeping up with an endless stream of comments on my Facebook page, here are some other reasons I choose to engage selectively with people in the comments section.

  • Reading and replying to every single comment is time consuming
  • Replying to comments doesn’t result in increased visibility of your content
  • Most comments aren’t meaningful or add value to the published content

Does this sound like your comment sections?

If so, I feel your pain. It’s tough being a content creator these days.

--

--

Alex Bentley

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.